Test Results

I spoke with the doctor this morning about Bo’s test results.

I knew before I spoke with him (and long before that)  that any decisions made for Boris will always be about the quality of his life.  There can be no thought about extending life for an Alzheimer’ victim.  It would be cruel and against Bo’s wishes.

I just want him to be comfortable and happy, to have the energy to go through the days.

The results showed very little.  They didn’t rule anything out except a brain tumor.  They showed several signs of “minor”  vessel leaks into the brain and one larger one “near the stem”  which might account for the incident in our kitchen when he nearly passed out and his speech was slurred.

But, as Jim pointed out to me,  these tests don’t tell time.  The incidents could have occurred long ago or last week. And, the brain MRI shows continuing degeneration.

Sometimes, as I sit here at my computer talking about Boris’s life,  I feel so very guilty.  I am talking about him behind his back…he has no idea that his story is streaming out on the Internet. I have no doubt he wouldn’t be happy about this, but at the same time,  I know it’s helping family and friends understand what he is going through….what daily life is like.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Test Results

  1. Beth says:

    Aunt Nancy, you’re right. Your entries do help friends and family (I consider myself to be both) understand and feel a bit closer to both of you. I hope that in some small way, writing this story, in its many chapters, is helpful to you as well.
    Greetings from snowy London. I always think of you when I travel to Europe!
    Beth

  2. Mimi says:

    Dearest Nancy,

    Your personal blog/memoir helps me to know what you are going through with Boris.
    Blessings of Peace!

    PS: Hormones sound great especially in a cream/topical form.

  3. Hello Nancy,
    Glad we have met up. You know I like Boris have AD and also Frontal Temporal Lobe Dementia. Keep telling his story from your side. I talk from the other side of the isle. We can be exhausting to be around, make sure you FIND time for YOURSELF.

    God Bless,
    Joe

Leave a Reply

