Spend Five Minutes with Me

How do I explain how the good and bad times fluctuate?  How we had three really terrible days this week —  coincidentally, it was raining – when Bo slept until almost noon and then was so tired that if he swept the driveway, I saw him leaning on the broom to rest.

And how now,  we are having our second good day when he got up at 8:30 and didn’t nap until after 11 – and that was after doing a lot of puttering outside.  He had a good breakfast and a mid-morning snack.

But,  here is a description of what happened – a 5 minute slice of life – about an hour ago.  I asked him to move 2 bags of mulch for me so I could spread it around a  pine tree.

I asked a couple of times but each time he was distracted by something.  Finally,  he got one bag.

You want this bag?
Yes.
Where do you want it?
Under the pine tree there.
Under that  tree?
Yes.
Do you want it under that tree?
Yes.  Right over there.
Where do you want it?
Right here.
Right there?
Yes,  on this side.
Where do you want it?
On that muddy spot.
Oh,  right there?
Yes.
Do you want it all there?
Yes.
Do you want me to spread it out?
No, just dump it please.
You want the whole bag?

And so it goes.

This morning, the landscapers came to plant hollies  where we lost the big spruce this winter and do some other planting.  Midway through their hard work,  we made sandwiches and drinks for them.  Bo delivered the food to the men on the back patio.  He returned to the house and asked me if I was going to give the men something to eat.  Did they want something to drink?  And then he asked me again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spend Five Minutes with Me

  1. Mimi says:

    Dearest Nancy,

    Please take time for you.
    Will email you soon.
    Blessings & Prayers,
    Mimi

  2. Fran says:

    I discovered your blog only a week or so ago, and am amazed and comforted. Amazed because so much of what you write about your day to day experience with your husband could have been written by me! Comforted because it encourages me to accept the diagnosis that my husband received a couple of years ago. I’ve been swinging between accepting (on the not-so-good days) the Alzheimer’s label, and rejecting it (on better days), thinking the problem may be simply old age dementia. Thank you for blogging — I send you warm hugs!

    • Thank you so much for your words. I’ve told friends that one of the reasons I blog is in the hope that someone might find it someday and it may help a little. Nancy

  3. Dianne says:

    Sad Nancy, there are so many different kinds of traps that we discover on our journey through life. Boris is trapped by the limitations of his memory and you are trapped trying to make sense out of these trapping. My love and prayers are with you, Dianne

  4. Karen Phillips says:

    Nancy,
    Please please promise to ask for help when you need it!
    You are always in my thoughts.

    Much love,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

