A Good Day

There are good days and today was one of them.  It was almost normal.  Bo got up early as I was getting ready to go to Starbuck’s for coffee with a friend.  He was fine with me leaving, so I  took Emma for her walk and nap in the car.

When I came home at 11, he had eaten the breakfast I left and cleaned up the dishes.  Then he’d worked in the yard picking up blossoms until he tired and lay down for a nap.    We had a barbecue on the patio for lunch,  sitting at the table for at least an hour and a half,  then he went back to work in the yard for a while.

The only real signs of his problem were when he asked me where to put the debris that he picked up, and later this afternoon when I told him our friend was coming for dinner.  Automatically,  as always,  his immediate response was that he didn’t feel well  and needed to go upstairs.  No matter who is coming to the house, he doesn’t want them to come.  But as soon as he saw her, he was congenial and humorous, and our spare rib dinner was a hit.  After two bowls of ice cream, we played Rummikub and he was just fine — did the math quickly– and won the game.

Tomorrow may be the same.  Or it may be totally different and he’ll wake up not knowing who I am.  (Earlier this week as I was making breakfast, he asked me who employed me.)  Or he just may want to “go home.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Good Day

  1. Annamarie says:

    It’s so nice to hear about this good day–and Boris winning the game. Yeah!

  2. Dianne says:

    Glad for the good day for both of you.

  3. Jo Ann Kohler says:

    The good days are worth a million!

  4. Ruth Geddes says:

    Those kind of days are a joy and help us, as caregivers, to carry on.

  5. Maureen says:

    What a great post ! I love it and I love both of you !!!

  6. charlotte guarino says:

    You need a good day now and then. Hopefully, you’ll have many, many more.

  7. Greg says:

    Be blessed and thank God for another good memory to cherish.

  8. Pauline Koch says:

    How nice that you and Boris had a good day!

Leave a Reply

