Thanksgiving

Bo doesn’t know that it’s Thanksgiving, but I know we have a lot to be thankful for.  Not only do I still have him with me, but both of our lives are so much better since John  and  and his family came into our lives.

Three weeks have passed already and we’ve all settled in nicely.  Turns out, I’m having a really good time with them living in the basement!   They’re  a lovely family, very thoughtful and mannerly. We eat together and are spending more and more time together.   John cares for Bo,  he and I share cooking responsibilities, and he does all that he can in the house.  He often takes Bo out for rides or errands so that I can have a break.   Adriana is bringing the kids home earlier – actually coming for meals and homework.  The first week or so she stayed out till after 10.

As I write this, I’m with Emma in the family room, and they’re all downstairs watching a movie.  Bo accepts their presence at dinner or breakfast, but doesn’t know them or that they live here.  Emma dog loves everyone, and the kids love her.  Charlie cat is much less enthusiastic.

I’m having a great time with the children.  Took them to a movie and to food shop for a needy family, then delivered the bags to the church last Saturday.  On Sunday Victoria (age 10) and I baked two pies for her book report (a book with recipes in each chapter.) This Saturday we’ll go to Macy’s in Philadelphia for the traditional holiday light show and to visit Dickens Village.

We have the Christmas tree in the family room so they can decorate it and we’ll have Christmas together.  Adriana commented yesterday that they’ll have to get stockings because they’ve never had a real fireplace mantle before.

It was a really good decision.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thanksgiving

  1. dianne says:

    Sounds like a win-win all around. Seems like a beacon of HOPE is lighting your way this holiday season…How fun for you to have children to do baking homework with. I am happy for you Nan….

  2. Maureen says:

    I love it!

  3. Julio Feldman says:

    We don’t know where our journeys will takes us. I am a strong believer that during difficult situations we are presented with opportunities and how we react can make us stronger and enable to us grow and move forward. You are an excellent example. I wish you, Bo and your extended family a very Happy Holiday Season! Enjoy your visit to the light show with the girls. When I started teaching I used to take my students. I have very fond memories.

    Take care,
    Julio

  4. Pauline Koch says:

    Wonderful, Nancy! I am inspired as always at your tenacity, your love of Bo and life! You have made outstanding and caring decisions throughout Bo’s illness. Take care. Pauline

  5. Pat says:

    I’m so glad to hear good news. I can almost see you smiling as you wrote this.

  6. Arleen Stolzenberger says:

    Bob & I are thrilled to hear that your extended family is bringing so much help and joy into your lives. You have been a pillar of strength and it’s wonderful now that you can take breaks! Wishing you all a great holiday season.

Leave a Reply

