We’re Home

At last we brought Bo home from the hospital yesterday afternoon.  It had been 6 1/2 days since we took him to the emergency room with extreme pain in his stomach.  Long days that are a blur to me now, maybe because I’m sleep deprived.

Has the problem been solved?   No, not really.  I was relieved to have a battery of tests done to find out what’s going on,  and to consult with doctors about his daily habits.  I was also relieved to have tests done in the least stressful way (would never have taken him for a colonoscopy…he couldn’t have tolerated the preparation.) But by the time they gave it to him at the hospital Friday,  the prep had been done — all week.

What did we find out?  He has two kidney stones which may be causing the pain, but they’re small.  He had an obstructed bowel, a chronic condition,  which we may be better able to manage now.  He has high blood pressure and several other issues which the doctors wanted to treat, but I said NO.  I am keeping my promises to Bo:  no life-extending meds or procedures.

He is so weak that Jon could hardly get him up the steps to go to bed, and I’m concerned about him falling.  He was no sooner in his bed yesterday than he began to complain of the stomach pains again, which I have to think are the kidney stone, so I gave him 3 Tylenols and he slept until Jon got him up about 9 pm, brought him downstairs and he ate part of a bowl of comforting (we hope) soup, then his head was on the table so Jon took him back up to bed where I stayed with him for the night.

Today,  he is sleeping.

 

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We’re Home

  1. Marko says:

    Glad you are all home again, Aunt Nancy. Get some rest. I hope the stones pass soon to lessen his discomfort. We’ve got you and Uncle Bo in our prayers.

  2. Dear Nancy,
    I am so touched by your blog, but more so by your kindness and patience to Bo. He is so lucky to have you (even though you do nothing!) You and Bo and Jon and family are in my thoughts and prayers everyday.

    Fondly,
    Kathe Shakespeare

  3. Arleen Mildred Stolzenberger says:

    I am so happy you got Bo home. You and Jon will be able to recharge. I commend you for honoring Bo’s wishes. It’s hard for the spouse or family member to do but it’s the right thing to do.
    You both stay in our prayers.

  4. kategresham says:

    How difficult this must be for you, and how courageous you are for following Bo’s wishes. May he not suffer too much. My thoughts are with you all.

  5. Lisa M says:

    I’m so happy you are back home. I can’t imagine how difficult this has been for you. We’ve never been able to go straight home from the hospital – we’ve always needed a stop in rehab for mom to get her strength back…home is better!

  6. dementedgirl says:

    So glad he’s home. Catching up on your last few posts, I can tell it’s been a nightmare, and can well identify after MIL’s nightmarish three weeks in hospital recovering from a burst duodenal ulcer which nearly finished her off… Finding her house flooded out when we came home again was infinitely worse though!

Leave a Reply

