The Quintet of Radiance Award

award

It happened to me again …. this time I received a note from Lori, a blogger at Creatingbeautyinthekitchen,  suggesting that I visit her blog;  she had nominated me for an award. What a lovely thing to happen to me.  It is such an honor. Here’s how Lori said it :

“Nominee for Quintet of Radiance Award: Nancy at Alzheimer’s Wife- I actually just started following this precious woman’s blog and I was so impacted by her that I am giving her this award. I love her love for her husband and her writing is just beautiful!”

Thank you, Lori.

Not long ago I began reading Lori’s creative, lifestyle blog. She writes and photographs her healthy, low-glycemic creations made with fresh ingredients, no processed foods or refined sugars and “almost gluten-free.” It’s a lifestyle she didn’t want to adopt but did so at her doctor’s recommendation, and the outcome is that she loves her new way of eating, so, she is sharing it with us.

As I recently learned, each blog award comes with its requirements, and the Quintet (which is a combination of 5 awards) requires that you tell 26 things about yourself. 26 A-Z! So I decided to copy Lori’s clever approach. She had her mother and nephew do the describing; I will ask my new “grandchildren” Justin and Victoria to do it for me. (I did list a couple of words myself: stubborn, impatient, tenacious.)

Artistic, book lover, Charlie cat lover, dancer, Emma dog lover, fast driver, gregarious and generous, hopeful, impatient, just, kind, likes museums, music lover, nice, organizer, planner, quick-tempered, raisin-hater, stubborn, tenacious thinker, upbeat, very good friend, water skier, extra ? , young-at-heart, zest for life

Lisa at mysweetpeanut.com is the first person I nominate for this award.  I feel as if Lisa and I have become good friends through our blogs, sharing our lives as Alzheimer’s caregivers;  I have come to love her dog and her family –pictures and stories.  AND, she’s a terrific writer.

I also want to nominate fiona and simon who tell their story of moving from Australia to  Peterborough, Canada, so that Simon  could go to a special school where  his learning difficulties could be treated in the Arrowsmith program.  Their daily experiences, travels,  Simon’s progress — all of it is shared with us.

And finally, Mrs. hsg at “Before I Forget”  who writes about her own diagnosis of early onset Alzheimers.  She’s a writer and photographer whom I greatly admire for her openness and honesty as she shares her life in England.  She also writes book reviews and her “filigree photography” is very special.

(Award Requirements:  accept and thank the person who nominated you; follow that blog;   write 25 words or phrases that describe you, A-Z; list a few other bloggers who you think deserve the award.)

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Quintet of Radiance Award

  1. Annamarie says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on this wonderful award that recognizes how awesome you are! Your new grandchildren forgot to mention how many long time friends you have that feel very blessed to have you in their lives. You’re bright, interesting, friendly, caring, classy, and have a fun sense of adventure. And, what a beautiful graceful ballroom & tango dancer you are!

  2. Thank you, Annamarie… my sister at heart!

  3. Joan K. says:

    Congratulations, Nancy! Please continue writing.

  4. Meredith says:

    I’m so happy for you! I always visit all the sites that are nominated so I can make new friends. I enjoyed all of the adjectives attributed to you.

  5. Arleen Mildred Stolzenberger says:

    Congratulations. I so love what Justin and Voctoria’s input. Fast driver?? I am also going to check out the other bloggers you mention. Thanks so much for your charting.

  6. Arleen Mildred Stolzenberger says:

    meany sharing. OOPS

  7. Arleen Mildred Stolzenberger says:

    Darn fingers- meant sharing.

  8. Maureen says:

    Love it, congratulations!!

  9. Lori says:

    Congrats again Nancy! Loved that you had your grandchildren do this! Enjoyed reading your A-Z!

  10. Miriam says:

    This is so typically you Nancy. You bring out the best in every situation!

  11. Lisa M says:

    Thank you Nancy – I think of us as friends as well. And I count on you for your recommendations. April from The Schmiddle Ages is a new favorite and I am a fan of “Before I Forget” as well. I will try and do the award justice. Keep sharing your stories – I just love following along!

  12. Dear Nancy,
    I feel so honoured that you have nominated me and Simon for this award and I am sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you about it. Things have gone somewhat awry being home – the house is constantly busy and regularly cooking dinners for 12 or more takes me away from the blog and writing! I love the busyness but both Simon and I would love some peace and quiet too!
    I will put it on our blog later today, though with 10 for dinner and the fact the sun is shining after 4 days of constant rain and feeling guilty about not taking Rusty for a walk, it may end up being tomorrow. Anyway, a big thank you. You are a constant source of inspiration with the warmth, love, generosity of soul and the wit with which you describe your life.
    With warmest wishes,
    Fiona

Leave a Reply

