Waiting for the Stone

The wait goes on.  Last night in the middle of the night Bo was up with excruciating stomach pain.  I felt so sorry for him, curled up on the bed, then bent over the side, moaning but unable to explain what was happening.  I did the only thing I knew to do:  gave him 4 Tylenols, then helped him to get somewhat comfortable on the bed and waited until I heard him breathing smoothly.  My heart broke for him as I watched him sleep. Will he pass a 3 millimeter stone?  I suppose the jury is out, and we’ll find out more on Tuesday at his urologist appointment.  At the hospital the general consensus was that “it’s not a very big stone so it should pass.”  Easy for them to say.

Bo has lost so much weight.  He ate little all last week in the hospital, and now that he’s home,  the most he’s getting is 2 small meals, and he’s not even eating ice cream this week.  As he lay on his side on the bed,  I looked at his hip and thigh and felt so sad; he’s terribly thin.

But through this, while Jon cares for Bo,  the children and I had another Nancy’Camp activity yesterday afternoon:  FLOWER ARRANGING.  At first, Justin said he wasn’t going to do it, but then he changed his mind and did a great job.

I picked up a couple of large bouquets of mixed flowers at the local produce store in the morning, then the kids went around our yard  cutting a variety of greens and collected all sorts of containers around the house, vases, bottles, dishes,  tea pots, whatever they wanted to try.

We worked in the kitchen, the sink filled with the flowers and greens.  I got out all of the flower arranging materials I had — oasis, tape, clippers, scissors, etc.,  and they began by learning how to clean the stems of the flowers.  We had an active hour as the little florists went to work, and the outcome — when they finally ran out of flowers — was 10 very lovely arrangements  now sitting throughout the house.

 P1030200 P1030201

IMG_0952 IMG_0962 IMG_0963

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Waiting for the Stone

  1. Is there anything you don’t know how to do? Flower arranging, baking, entertaining….the list goes on. But, most of all………….a loving, loyal, compassionate partner with infinite patience (even when you think you don’t). Baci and I are in awe 🙂

  2. I rushed my husband to the ER in April with a kidney stone. He claimed the pain must be worse than giving birth. When he was asked to sign papers at the hospital before the morphine was given, he said he would have signed anything to eliminate that pain. He even told me he would have signed me away to gypsies! I hope Bo passes the stones soon. I’m another “Nancy” and I can tell you are a very good NancyNurse when you are not being an extraordinary NancyCamp.

  3. Lisa M says:

    Those are beautiful! We have two huge ‘rock rose’ bushes in our back yard and my daughter loves cutting them and putting them in vase in the kitchen window. My son has always been my helper pruning our flowers and trees, but hasn’t tried flower arranging…I think we may have to do this one too!
    So sorry for Bo – I’ve heard it is one of the most painful things. Thankfully, no one I know has had to deal with it right in front of me. Praying for a quick passing or a less painful solution at the urologist.
    Mom lost tons of weight in the hospital…and now, even though she eats 10 or 11 times a day – she hasn’t put on a single pound…I often wonder what that means. The doctors and nurses just smile at me when I ask and give me some patronizing answer!

  4. Meredith says:

    I cared for a mother-in-law for 3 months waiting for a placement for her. Caring for her and working was more than I could manage. I understand the difficulty of communication. I hope you have all the support that you need. Your children are lovely.

  5. Arleen Mildred Stolzenberger says:

    You are amazing! I love the bonding you have done with the children. This will last forever! I want to join Camp Nancy!!! I feel for Bo. Know the pain from kidney stones. Trying to put weight on when the patient is not eating is a high feat. Bob had lost over 30 pounds when he was In hospital so I know what you are going through. I forced proteins shakes, mash potatoes with lots of butter.I also did very small frequent meals. The visiting nurse was helpful in suggestions. I would hope your doctors will give more input. Good luck next week. Hopefully the stone will pass.

  6. charlotte guarino says:

    Hopefully, the stone will pass soon. By the way, the floral arrangements are beautiful. I guess we’ll get an opportunity to see them “live” this week.

  7. dementedgirl says:

    Oh God, I can imagine waiting for a kidney stone to pass is bad enough, let alone with Alzheimers as well…. Hope it passes soon… 😦

Leave a Reply

