Third Trip to the Hospital

It’s Saturday morning  and I spent the night  in the emergency room with Bo.  Our third visit.  He’s back — with pain, extreme pain, in his chest and back and with a fever.  It’s been coming on worse and worse for three days and after dinner last night Jon and I knew we had to bring him back here.

It’s not fair.  Not fair at all that he has to undergo all of this.  The pain started out as a cramp or perhaps, we thought,  a bruised rib.  But he hadn’t fallen, had no bruises, and of course he can’t tell us what’s happening most of the time.  One time he will be cursing in pain and the next when we ask where it hurts, he has so response.  But one thing for sure,  we knew it hurt him each time he moved.

After X-rays and a CT scan, it was determined that Bo has a blood clot on his lung.  He was given pain medication so he could sleep, and I sat up all night beside him.  Jon dropped us off, as has become our habit now, and went home for some sleep.  He’ll relieve me later today but I need to stay until all doctors have visited and a determination has been made about Bo’s medication.

Right now I’m eyeing the breakfast tray that was dropped off.  I should awaken Bo so he can eat since he’s lost so much weight, but he doesn’t want to wake up and eat.  Dare I eat those eggs and pancakes?

 

 

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Third Trip to the Hospital

  1. Meredith says:

    Bo would to if he could.

  2. frangipani says:

    I hope Bo gets better soon!

  3. Reminiscent of 2011 when I lost count of how many hospitalizations my mother had. How many dads I had spent with her ( no one to share this with ) and how it all ended in her admission to assisted living. It was the worst year of my life.

  4. I’m thinking of you both- you are in my prayers.
    Energy and hugs to you!
    /anna

  5. Maureen says:

    God bless you both! What a journey.

  6. Pat says:

    I hope you did, before they got cold. Hang in there. Think of you (all) often.

  7. Arleen Mildred Stolzenberger says:

    Eat! You have to keep up your strength ! Will keep you all in thoughts and prayers.

  8. Paula Kaye says:

    Thinking of you and saying prayers for Bo All this is so hard

  9. seeingdeep1 says:

    Thank you for transparently sharing your pain – I know it is healing for you. When I was sick in the hospital, I could not eat the food, either. I told my husband to eat it. I pray that you are strengthened in this harrowing walk and that God comforts you both during this time.

  10. Mary Smith says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of yet another hospitalisation for Bo. I hope they can give him the right treatment and you get him home soon. I live in dread of the next time my dad has to go into hospital as it only increases his confusion. And, yes, you should have eaten his breakfast if he wasn’t awake to eat it. You need to keep up your strength.

  11. kategresham says:

    How stressful and sad for you, and how difficult for Bo; can only hope for resolution. My thoughts are with you. Thank you for taking the time to write, we all care.

Leave a Reply

