Giving Thanks

Norman Rockwell's Family Thanksgiving

Norman Rockwell’s
Family Thanksgiving

It’s Thanksgiving — that time of year when we stop what we’re doing and take time to think of all of our blessings.  On my other blog, Wordwaltzer,  I wrote the ten things for which I’m thankful this year in response to Carole Knit’s “Ten on Tuesday”  blog.  I like making a list like that; it causes me to stop and take a close look at my life, to appreciate what I have.

One of my favorite scenes is a family sitting around a Thanksgiving Dinner table, each taking a turn to give thanks.  I think it’s an especially important lesson for children.  But with life going at such a frantic pace these days,  I wonder how many families actually take that time, or is it just a Norman Rockwell image that I recall from the cover of an old Saturday Evening Post magazine?  I hope not.  We have so much to be thankful for, even in the bad times.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. Annamarie says:

    Nancy, I love this post–and love reading your blogs. It’s such a blessing to count you among my closest lifelong friends. God Bless you and your family. Annamarie

  2. Mary Smith says:

    I just popped over to your other blog Wordwaltzer so I could read your list and then read on for several posts. You are a wonderful writer – truthful, funny, poignant – and seem to be able to say exactly how it feels. I know that triangle you talk about. Hope you have as wonderful a Thanksgiving as possible.

  3. Maureen says:

    I’m thankful I’m your friend! I love reading your blog! Happy thanksgiving!!!

  4. boomer98053 says:

    In the midst of difficulty, we can almost always find something for which to be grateful. Sounds like you’ve figured that out. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

  5. Arleen Stolzenberger says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you all. Yes, even in the darkest times we have a lot to be thankful for. We all go through days that seem dark but there is always some brightness coming through and we realize how lucky we are. I read your list. Yes, you can be thankful for the care you are giving Bo and to have a new family in your lives.

  6. What a great list – it is only when we stop and think about that we realise the blessings in our lives, isn’t it? I am so impressed that you have another blog as well! You are truly amazing and your wonderful writing is inspiring. I hope you did indeed have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

