A Moment in Time

(At WordPress,  a daily topic is posted.  One day last week, this was it:  “What was the last picture you took? Tell us the story behind it.”)

Coincidentally,  I had taken this picture the same day.  It’s dark and shadowed, but the story it tells is a reflection of Bo’s day.

IMG_1372

He had his breakfast, followed by a nap.  Then he walked into the family room, lost and sad.  “What am I to do?” he asked, as he sat in one chair and leaned his head on the back of another.  A picture so poignant …. my heart broke.

The most active person I’ve ever known doesn’t have the energy, the strength,  … the ability to do anything.  He doesn’t understand most things, but I think he does understand that he’s lost in a  world that makes no sense.

He has been crying every couple of days, and when asked what’s the matter, he always says, “I don’t know.”

And so  Alzheimer’s holds him prisoner as he eats better,  gets up earlier, and seems stronger while the cells in his brain are erased and his mind fails him.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Wordpress Daily Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Moment in Time

  1. Mary Smith says:

    Oh, I’m sorry. Thinking of you. Stay strong.

  2. dianne says:

    Devastating is the word that comes to mind……I am so sorry that you and Bo have to be challenged by this horrible disease Nancy. Love, dianne

  3. pcleere1949 says:

    You will be in my prayers, Nancy. This is a cruel disease. Peg

  4. Elaine says:

    The heartbreak you experience today, the loss you are experiencing now is part of the grieving process. Grieving doesn’t always happen after someone dies. In my case, all my grieving happened the 8 years before my mom died. There was so much sadness while she was alive … I didn’t realize that I have grieved all those years… until the day she died. On that day I knew my grieving was over. Her losses had stopped. I miss her every single day but our grief (hers and mine) was over.

    Be with him through all of this grief! So that he is not alone in his losses! You will not be sorry when he is gone.

  5. Paula Kaye says:

    I don’t know what to say! There are no words to make it better. My prayers are for you Nancy. And I sending a big hug! It is so hard

  6. frangipani says:

    This is so sad. My friend asked me yesterday if I’ve spoken to Mom about the…”end-of-life”… I said although we haven’t, we siblings are quite agreed on comfort as the priority. Meanwhile, when Mom was ill, she did go around saying “Oh dear, what to do, what to do?” as she struggled with physical activities. We can only reassure and say not to worry, we’ll take care of it.

  7. boomer98053 says:

    The photo speaks volumes and draws the viewer right into the heart of Bo’s dismay. Thank you for sharing this poignant pic that paints an accurate depiction of affliction.

  8. My prayers are with you…. This time is really had, I have family who have the same problem, but one can cope only with an overwhelming of love….

  9. dementedgirl says:

    Thinking of you Nancy xx

Leave a Reply

