The Overcoat

Today I cried about an overcoat.

I decided it was time to do some spring cleaning, so I began with our closets.  Bo’s clothes hang there, most never worn because it’s easier for him to wear warm-up pants and pull-over shirts.   There are still dress shirts and belts and slacks and ties in the closet.  And shoes and boots and ….

Last year I gave away his tuxedos and suits.  Kept one navy blazer,  just in case.  In case of what?  He will never go out again … to dinner … to visit friends … to a concert or movie.

Over the past three or four years,  I’ve added different sizes to his closet as he gained or lost weight, so I made piles of the larger sized slacks and tennis shirts, belts, sweaters, some shoes and a pair of snow boots to give to Goodwill.

And then, for some reason,  when I got to the coat closet and took out his overcoat, the one that he wore over suits on cold winter evenings,  I fell apart.

Jon saw me just standing there … “What’s the matter?”

That’s all I needed,  the tears came.  “It’s so sad.  He’ll never wear it again.  We won’t go anywhere together,”  I sobbed.  “Never.”

The coat — a symbol of my loss.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Overcoat

  1. Scarlett79 says:

    I know just how you feel. When we are in our home, there are so many reminders. I come across so many, I don’t do much around the house anymore. I’ll send some Angels your way. They help me to get through my day ❤

  2. Mary Smith says:

    I know how it feels. And isn’t it strange it is usually something so ordinary, like Bo’s overcoat, that can totally overwhelm us?.

  3. boomer98053 says:

    I am so sorry. What you experienced is touching and necessary. We lose our loved one with dementia one inch at a time and each and every one of them hurts.

  4. Paula Kaye says:

    I am so very sorry Nancy. I know exactly how this feels. I haven’t yet cleaned out Richard’s clothes and coats. I just can’t yet. It has been 10 months. I guess it is time. Hugs to you!!

Leave a Reply

