And so, another month …. and NancyCamp

And so, another month has passed since I posted my last blog.  In that time, not much has changed.  Life goes on quietly and sadly.

Things are calm here right now. Bo “came back” from a very bad decline while I was away, not because I wasn’t here but because … who knows why.  His meds were changed, maybe it was that.  To be honest: simple things can cause a big decline in him.  He has good care, whether it is our part-time caregivers or Jon, who treats him like his own father.

Bo’s  decline was so bad that he couldn’t walk — just took mincing steps as we “pulled him” along and kept him from falling backwards. Didn’t talk, only slept, had to be fed. In fact, Hospice lowered his condition a level. Now he’s able to get up, walk, eat, communicate a bit; but even with this, his day is (usually) sleep (18-21 hrs.) and eat.

Some days Jon takes him out in the car, but I don’t even know if he understands what’s happening. They get ice cream  or drive me to Phila. for lunch with a friend. (While I eat, they drive around and get fast food.) He still calls me by my name or nickname and says “I love you too” when I tell him I love him. I think sometimes he has things to say but he just can’t finish the sentences.  Occasionally he makes a short comment that is related to what we’re talking about.

It’s summer again and time for NancyCamp** for the two children and me.  Our first activity was last Saturday evening when I took them to our own downtown (Haddonfield) to find the pieces of art that the Philadelphia Museum of Art has on exhibit* in public places.  We walked up and down the streets,  reading the information about each piece and taking pictures.

IMG_1744 IMG_1757

*For local readers,  Haddonfield  is the only New Jersey installation of the “Inside Out”  art exhibition by the Philadelphia Museum of Art this summer.

**Also for local readers,  several of you told me that you’d like to attend an Adult NancyCamp.  I will do it in July.  Please contact me if you would like to join in the activities.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Art and Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And so, another month …. and NancyCamp

  1. Paula says:

    It is so painful isn’t it Nancy? I am sending you a huge virtual hug. Glad that you have Jon. Hospice used to tell me that Richard hung on for so long because we gave him such good care. How could I have done anything but!

  2. Mary Smith says:

    Oh, it’s so familiar, Nancy, right down to thinking he has things to say but isn’t able to finish the sentences. Thinking of you. Enjoy your Nancy Camp – and if I lived near you I’d love to come along to the adult one! Look forward to reading about it.
    I really must get back to my blog – long overdue.

  3. ….and I’d love to have you with us!

  4. Kathe Shakespeare says:

    I’d love to hear about your Nancy Camp for adults. It sounds wonderful.

  5. I’ll put your name on the list to send info

  6. Pauline Koch says:

    Nancy, please send me the information as well. Please take care!

  7. OK. Love to have you.

  8. Scarlett79 says:

    My husband, Michael is an artist. I just got him a membership to the Art Institute in Chicago. His work has helped to deal with so much in his life. He does beautiful work and he has never had an art lesson in his life. He likes to just go down there and get lost. It is a very calming thing to do. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers always. Love ya, ❤

  9. Pat says:

    Hi Nancy. I think of you and your struggles often; stay strong.
    I’d love to be a part of Nancy Camp. No one does it better ..

  10. I put you on the list!

  11. Nancy, you are amazing, so full of love and grace. If I were local. I would love to come on NancyCamp. I am sure it will be great and such interesting excursions. I will enjoy reading about it. Hugs to you.

  12. Thank you! I’d love to have you with us.

Leave a Reply

