Because It Feels Good

I just taught Bo how to eat ice cream with a spoon.  Half an hour ago, I taught him how to eat baked beans.

Knowing that I should keep my mouth shut,  I still asked him,  “WHY do you do that?”

“Because it feels good,” he said.

I was stunned.  My question was rhetorical;  I didn’t expect an answer.  I was voicing my displeasure at something he did.  (Why do I do that?)

Because it feels good.  Is that really why he puts down his fork and eats with both hands? Why we now put a towel on the table in front of him to catch the food  that he drops or sometimes just puts there? Or did his real response get caught in his internal  map that seems to re-route words and ideas so that they come out garbled?

I’ll never know.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Because It Feels Good

  1. Arleen Stolzenberger says:

    Typical child response. When my youngest grandson does something outlandish and I ask why his response is “because I can”. Don’t beat yourself up for asking. It’s part of being human.

  2. MCI Alice says:

    My question is not why but how–how you have developed your incredible patience.

  3. Paula Kaye says:

    I love it!! Good for Bo!

  4. Elaine says:

    We should all do things because they feel good rather than what society says is correct – within reason of course. 🙂

  5. Mary Smith says:

    That ‘why’ question just pops out, doesn’t it? No matter how often we tell ourselves not to ask! I loved Bo’s reply.

Leave a Reply

