And summer comes to an end

Can’t believe it’s already August 22 and the last Adult NancyCamp event was last evening:  a 2-hour leisurely boat ride around Philadelphia.  It rained a little but it didn’t matter.  We had a good time. In a week the children will be back at school and their events will end.  One last, big one remains –  a trip to New York City next Sunday.  The Times Square Disney store is high on the list.

Despite all of the difficulties  this summer ( Bo’s declines,  my time alone,  searching for a second caregiver to provide extra help, new challenges with his illness)  my summer had some absolutely wonderful moments.  I did the things I love most:  visited museums, gardens, mansions; had afternoon tea and  lovely luncheons and even fit in a couple of concerts. All with good friends.  It looks as if Adult NancyCamp may be here to stay.

While I thrive on these outings, poor Bo sleeps,  sits passively with his head drooping,  is confused,  has difficulty understanding how to eat.  He went from the high point of visiting Jon’s garden one evening to an extreme low point when we thought he may be going unconscious.  We needed a hospital bed, help from Hospice.  It was terrible.  But he rallied, although not back to where it started.

His eyes look less bright,  his answers are slower and less cogent.  He taps me in bed and asks who I am, then when I tell him,  I’m not sure he understands.  Yet the next day he may be calling for me.

 

 

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And summer comes to an end

  1. Mary Smith says:

    I’m glad you’ve been able to have some good times this summer, Nancy. Bo’s decline sounds so much like my dad’s. Hang on to the high points like the visit to Jon’s garden; those are the things you will always be glad to remember with a smile.

  2. Thanks, Mary. I know that you’re right. Sometimes I forget what life was like with Bo, can’t even remember what it was like to have a conversation.

  3. Scarlett79 says:

    You are a strong, loving woman and I have learned so much from you already ((( ❤ )))

  4. Hi Nancy, I am so pleased you are able to take some time for yourself and that you had some wonderful times doing the things that you truly enjoy, I am sure that doing that enables you to give so much love and care to Bo. I can’t believe the summer is going by all too quickly either.

  5. Paula Kaye says:

    All of this is so very hard! I am sending you many hugs and saying for you lots of prayers!

  6. Thank you, Paula. I know you understand all of it.

Leave a Reply

