What else?

Are the stars misaligned? I can’t keep up with the things that are going wrong …. hoping it all ends today, the last day of September.

First,  of course, I had my knee surgery so I’m essentially out of commission.  Still no driving for a couple more weeks, so no trips to the store or bank or …

Ever since the hot dry weather attacked us in August and September, my trees and bushes have been under stress and attacked by insects.  Had to remove my plum tree,  take huge pieces off the Japanese cherry and laurel hedge, have sick azaleas, rhododendrons, lilac and pachysandra.  I really love my yard and spend a lot of time maintaining it. I had a contract with a local man who obviously didn’t do his job despite my calls, so  this week I signed with a new service to treat everything.

I sent my car to Conte’s for a wheel alignment and found out I need new tires.

I’ve finally given up on the front yard, which has been struggling in the heat for several summers.  It has more brown than grass and needs to be sodded.  Bite the bullet.  Do it.  I don’t want our house to look less than it did when Bo was in charge.

And then there are the hardwood floors throughout our house.  Again, Bo was the person who maintained them.  He did the hard work, the stripping and waxing.  I did them myself twice when he wasn’t able to do it,  but it’s too hard;  I can’t do it anymore. I’ve searched  for someone to do the job.  No success.  So now I’m faced with floors that are badly in need of care after two years of heavy use.  Looks as if I’ll have to have them polyurethaned …. another lovely expense.

So,  there’s the car,  the sod, the insects, the floor,  and  ….. oh, yes, —  the piece de resistance!  Yesterday, my refrigerator died.  Just died.  Bad compressor, the repairman said.  “$800 for a compressor, lady.  Might as well buy a new refrigerator.”  Great. A fast decision and shopping on a bum knee.  Jon has to get me to the stores.  The measurements of the refrigerator opening are smaller than needed for your average refrigerator, so that adds to the problem.  Got to find the right one.  I am not happy.

And, as I add to so many of my blogs now,  Bo has no idea of any of this.  I’m the caregiver and the caretaker.  The decision maker and the bill payer.  Just me. I hate this.

IMG_0843 IMG_0844 P1030571 P1030574

The way things were.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What else?

  1. norcalmom says:

    So sorry things are overwhelming you!!! Hugs!

  2. Maureen says:

    It’s just too much sometimes! Hang in there!

  3. Mary Smith says:

    My sister and I often asked ourselves if it was something to do with the planets – or was it just us when everything seemed to go wrong at once. It does seem that everything happens at once, or one thing straight after another. I think all you can do is hang on, hang in and wait for it to pass. I don’t know if the knowledge that others go through all the crap stuff, too, actually helps because it’s our own bad stuff which knocks the stuffing out of us. Sending hugs.

  4. boomer98053 says:

    Definitely a time when what was then, and what is now, need to be revisited. It’s so very difficult to let go of the things that matter so much to you but it seems that is required at this time. I am so very sorry for the situations that have just piled on top of you. And I teared up when you mentioned that Bo has no idea all of these stressors are in your life. The reason I teared up? You can’t share your frustrations with him and jointly work out a solution. I am so very sorry.

  5. Ine says:

    Sometimes it just feels good to bitch,moan, and complain. It’s not an easy life! Hope you find a place inside of you to re-energize. Love you!

  6. paulakaye says:

    I know exactly what you mean!! I hate it too. But now I have no choice. Sorry about all your troubles. Sometimes it just seems to over-take us, doesn’t it? There will be good days ahead! I promise! Sending you a hug. And saying a prayer

  7. MCI Alice says:

    I have been worrying about you, wondering why you have not posted lately. Then realized today that somehow WordPress did not have me following you anymore. Glad to have your voice, even when it is voicing so much struggle, back in my life.

  8. So glad to hear from you!

  9. Tumbling Maddie says:

    Hugs, seems to be a common feeling among carers just now 😦

Leave a Reply

